UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Gambia (the)

Kunta Kinteh Islands, Gambia

Gambia (the) is home to 2 UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Of those, there are 2 cultural sites, 0 natural sites and 0 mixed sites. Gambia (the) shares 1 of those sites with other countries.

The World Heritage Sites in Gambia (the) are:

  • Kunta Kinteh Island and Related Sites

    Kunta Kinteh Islands, Gambia
    James Island and Related Sites present a testimony to the main periods and facets of the encounter between Africa and Europe along the River Gambia, a continuum stretching from pre-colonial and pre-slavery times to independence.
  • Stone Circles of Senegambia*

Find it on the map

UNESCO World Heritage Sites Google Map
UNESCO World Heritage Sites Google Map

Top Stories

Machu Picchu
7 Wonders of the Modern World are UNESCO Sites too
July 12, 2022
The 'Pearl of the Adriatic', situated on the Dalmatian coast, became an important Mediterranean sea power from the 13th century onwards.
What is a UNESCO World Heritage Site?
August 3, 2019
UNESCO World Heritage Movies Spectre
Top 10 movies that feature UNESCO World Heritage Sites
November 19, 2018

Follow Us

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required


We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings