UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Georgia

Upper Svaneti

Georgia is home to 3 UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Of those, there are 3 cultural sites, 0 natural sites and 0 mixed sites. Georgia shares 0 of those sites with other countries.

The World Heritage Sites in Georgia are:

  • Gelati Monastery

    The Monastery of Gelati
    Founded in 1106 in the west of Georgia, the Monastery of Gelati is a masterpiece of the Golden Age of medieval Georgia, a period of political strength and economic growth between the 11th and 13th centuries.
  • Historical Monuments of Mtskheta

    Mtskheta, Georgia
    The historic churches of Mtskheta, former capital of Georgia, are outstanding examples of medieval religious architecture in the Caucasus.
  • Upper Svaneti

Upper Svaneti

Preserved by its long isolation, the Upper Svaneti region of the Caucasus is an exceptional example of mountain scenery with medieval-type villages and tower-houses.
  • Colchic Rainforests and Wetlands

Find it on the map

UNESCO World Heritage Sites Google Map
UNESCO World Heritage Sites Google Map

Top Stories

Machu Picchu
7 Wonders of the Modern World are UNESCO Sites too
July 12, 2022
The 'Pearl of the Adriatic', situated on the Dalmatian coast, became an important Mediterranean sea power from the 13th century onwards.
What is a UNESCO World Heritage Site?
August 3, 2019
UNESCO World Heritage Movies Spectre
Top 10 movies that feature UNESCO World Heritage Sites
November 19, 2018

Follow Us

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required


We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings