UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Panama

Panama Viejo

Panama is home to 5 UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Of those, there are 2 cultural sites, 3 natural sites and 0 mixed sites. Panama shares 1 of those sites with other countries.

The World Heritage Sites in Panama are:

  • Fortifications on the Caribbean Side of Panama: Portobelo-San Lorenzo

    Forts in Panama
    The Panamanian forts on the Caribbean coast form part of the defense system built by the Spanish Crown to protect transatlantic trade.
  • Darien National Park

  • Talamanca Range-La Amistad Reserves / La Amistad National Park

  • Archaeological Site of Panamá Viejo and Historic District of Panamá

    Panama Viejo
    Founded in 1519 by the conquistador Pedrarías Dávila, Panamá Viejo is the oldest European settlement on the Pacific coast of the Americas.
  • Coiba National Park and its Special Zone of Marine Protection

Find it on the map

UNESCO World Heritage Sites Google Map
UNESCO World Heritage Sites Google Map

Top Stories

Machu Picchu
7 Wonders of the Modern World are UNESCO Sites too
July 12, 2022
The 'Pearl of the Adriatic', situated on the Dalmatian coast, became an important Mediterranean sea power from the 13th century onwards.
What is a UNESCO World Heritage Site?
August 3, 2019
UNESCO World Heritage Movies Spectre
Top 10 movies that feature UNESCO World Heritage Sites
November 19, 2018

Follow Us

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required


We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings