UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Russian Federation

Red Square Moscow, Russia

Russian Federation is home to 29 UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Of those, there are 18 cultural sites, 11 natural sites and 0 mixed sites. Russian Federation shares 4 of those sites with other countries.

The World Heritage Sites in Russian Federation are:

  • Historic Centre of Saint Petersburg and Related Groups of Monuments

    Saint Petersburg, Russia

    The unique urban landscape of the port and capital city of Saint Petersburg, rising out of the Neva estuary where it meets the Gulf of Finland, was the greatest urban creation of the 18th century.
  • Kizhi Pogost

  • Kremlin and Red Square, Moscow

    Red Square Moscow, Russia
    Inextricably linked to all the most important historical and political events in Russia since the 13th century, the Kremlin (built between the 14th and 17th centuries by outstanding Russian and foreign architects) was the residence of the Great Prince and also a religious centre.
  • Cultural and Historic Ensemble of the Solovetsky Islands

  • Historic Monuments of Novgorod and Surroundings

  • White Monuments of Vladimir and Suzdal

  • Architectural Ensemble of the Trinity Sergius Lavra in Sergiev Posad

  • Church of the Ascension, Kolomenskoye

  • Virgin Komi Forests

  • Lake Baikal

  • Volcanoes of Kamchatka22

  • Golden Mountains of Altai

  • Western Caucasus

  • Curonian Spit

  • Ensemble of the Ferapontov Monastery

  • Historic and Architectural Complex of the Kazan Kremlin

  • Central Sikhote-Alin

  • Citadel, Ancient City and Fortress Buildings of Derbent

  • Uvs Nuur Basin*

  • Ensemble of the Novodevichy Convent

  • Natural System of Wrangel Island Reserve

  • Historical Centre of the City of Yaroslavl

  • Struve Geodetic Arc*

  • Putorana Plateau

  • Lena Pillars Nature Park

  • Bolgar Historical and Archaeological Complex

  • Assumption Cathedral and Monastery of the town-island of Sviyazhsk

  • Landscapes of Dauria*

  • Churches of the Pskov School of Architecture

  • Petroglyphs of Lake Onega and the White Sea

Find it on the map

UNESCO World Heritage Sites Google Map
UNESCO World Heritage Sites Google Map

Top Stories

Machu Picchu
7 Wonders of the Modern World are UNESCO Sites too
July 12, 2022
The 'Pearl of the Adriatic', situated on the Dalmatian coast, became an important Mediterranean sea power from the 13th century onwards.
What is a UNESCO World Heritage Site?
August 3, 2019
UNESCO World Heritage Movies Spectre
Top 10 movies that feature UNESCO World Heritage Sites
November 19, 2018

Follow Us

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required


We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings