UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Spain

Works of Antoni Gaudí

Spain is home to 48 UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Of those, there are 42 cultural sites, 4 natural sites and 2 mixed sites. Spain shares 4 of those sites with other countries.

The World Heritage Sites in Spain are:

  • Alhambra, Generalife and Albayzín, Granada

  • Burgos Cathedral

  • Historic Centre of Cordoba

  • Monastery and Site of the Escurial, Madrid

  • Works of Antoni Gaudí

    Works of Antoni Gaudí
    Seven properties built by the architect Antoni Gaudí (1852–1926) in or near Barcelona testify to Gaudí’s exceptional creative contribution to the development of architecture and building technology in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Photo credit: Amanda McCadams
  • Cave of Altamira and Paleolithic Cave Art of Northern Spain

  • Monuments of Oviedo and the Kingdom of the Asturias

  • Old Town of Ávila with its Extra-Muros Churches

  • Old Town of Segovia and its Aqueduct

  • Santiago de Compostela (Old Town)

  • Garajonay National Park

  • Historic City of Toledo

  • Mudejar Architecture of Aragon

  • Old Town of Cáceres

  • Cathedral, Alcázar and Archivo de Indias in Seville

  • Old City of Salamanca

  • Poblet Monastery

  • Archaeological Ensemble of Mérida

  • Routes of Santiago de Compostela: Camino Francés and Routes of Northern Spain

  • Royal Monastery of Santa María de Guadalupe

  • Doñana National Park

  • Historic Walled Town of Cuenca

  • La Lonja de la Seda de Valencia

  • Las Médulas

  • Palau de la Música Catalana and Hospital de Sant Pau, BarcelonaPalau de la Música Catalana and Hospital de Sant Pau, Barcelona

  • Pyrénées – Mont Perdu

  • San Millán Yuso and Suso Monasteries

  • Prehistoric Rock Art Sites in the Côa Valley and Siega Verde

  • Rock Art of the Mediterranean Basin on the Iberian Peninsula

  • University and Historic Precinct of Alcalá de Henares

  • Ibiza, Biodiversity and Culture

  • San Cristóbal de La Laguna

  • Archaeological Ensemble of Tárraco

  • Archaeological Site of Atapuerca

  • Catalan Romanesque Churches of the Vall de Boí

  • Palmeral of Elche

  • Roman Walls of Lugo

  • Aranjuez Cultural Landscape

  • Renaissance Monumental Ensembles of Úbeda and Baeza

  • Vizcaya Bridge

  • Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe

  • Teide National Park

  • Tower of Hercules

  • Cultural Landscape of the Serra de Tramuntana

  • Heritage of Mercury. Almadén and Idrija

  • Antequera Dolmens Site

  • Caliphate City of Medina Azahara

  • Risco Caido and the Sacred Mountains of Gran Canaria Cultural Landscape

  • Paseo del Prado and Buen Retiro, a landscape of Arts and Sciences

Find it on the map

UNESCO World Heritage Sites Google Map
UNESCO World Heritage Sites Google Map

Top Stories

Machu Picchu
7 Wonders of the Modern World are UNESCO Sites too
July 12, 2022
The 'Pearl of the Adriatic', situated on the Dalmatian coast, became an important Mediterranean sea power from the 13th century onwards.
What is a UNESCO World Heritage Site?
August 3, 2019
UNESCO World Heritage Movies Spectre
Top 10 movies that feature UNESCO World Heritage Sites
November 19, 2018

Follow Us

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required


We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings